Login   |   My Account
Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder, Model 337 | Birdfeeders.Com
Learning Center
Design a Feeder
Parts
Hot Buys
Free Shipping on Orders Over $50* - Order by 2pm EST and It Ships Today!
*Restrictions Apply »
Seed Feeders, Perky-Pet®  Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder, 337
Perky-Pet®  Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder Perky-Pet®  Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder Perky-Pet®  Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder Perky-Pet®  Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder

Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder

model #: 337
  (91)  |  write a review


Best Used For:
Keeping squirrels from thieving the birdseed. Using anti-squirrel technology, the ports of this squirrel proof feeder close under a squirrel’s weight, preventing them from raiding the seed supply. read full product details »  

$39.95
Quantity:   
US Availability:
In-Stock
Canada Availability:
In-Stock

Customer Reviews

Top Reviews Read All Reviews Write A Review  
Back to Product Detail
  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

We live in the woods. I bought this feeder 8 years ago from a local hardware store. It was on the clearance, so I figured I nothing to lose. It worked, kept the squirrels away. The open holes stayed open for the birds. If the squirrel got on it, the holes are covered by the metal décor and the squirrels got no seed. We've had a bear pull it down about 3 times, we clean it up and put it back up. It does look quite bruised and beat up, but still worked. This week, I saw a squirrel hanging on it. I suppose it finally broke.
It does have three dividers, but we just feed our birds sunflower seed, so I never paid attention to whether those work or not. We use all the same food in each container section.
I'm definitely going to order another one, because 8 years for any bird feeder is a fair amount of time to expect with bears, winters, floods and the heat from the sun.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

I owned one of these before and really liked it. I was most pleased to find one on Amazon. It is very effective for keeping squirrels out of the bird food. Birds flock to the feeder - it has sturdy perches, plenty of stations, is easy to refill, and holds large amounts of seeds. This feeder is strong enough to face both Texas summers and winters. The larger version costs a little more, but is definitely worth the cost.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

This is the Greatest bird feeder!!! I will buy more of them!!! It has three tubes so you can use different seed in each one...and the spring mechanism is terrific in keeping it from becoming a squirrel feeder as most of my other one have become so as I can afford it I will replace them all with this one...and it holds a lot of seed too!

  Good feeder. Needs parts! 
Reviewer:

I've had this spring-loaded feeder for three years and it's better than any other "squirrel-proof" feeders I've had in the past. My only complaint is that the interior plastic parts are shot -- the feed tube cracked and the birds pecked and chewed away the little inverted cups in the feed holes that prevent the seed from spilling out. I would like to buy just these parts, but when I called I was told they are not available. I'll buy a replacement feeder, but it's a waste to throw away the exterior metal framework, which is still in good condition. Please make repair parts available.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

FEBRURARY 18, 2014

Dear Mike,

We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying the feeder and have experienced great results with it compared to other feeders of your past. We do apologize that there are not internal components available for replacement at this time, however, we have forwarded your concerns to our Product Development Team for further consideration. If you need any assistance in the future, we can be reached at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Ivory
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

the birds love the feeder, you better have a lot of feed for them, they love it great product thanks.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

This is a big unit. We have the smaller versions with the same anti-squirrel design. You will need a lot of seed to fill this one up and it get heavy when it is full so you need a strong branch to hang it from.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

I had one it broke. Love the feeder seen how much cheaper oN line than in the store ordered it came in excellent condition. It works great.

  Home Depot Review, Beautiful 
Reviewer:

I used a 4 x4 post that is used for hanging baskets to fit this feeder. I simply drilled and pushed an old shortened broom handle through it.Not that it requires a 4 x4 post of course but bear in mind that once full of seed, this feeder is heavy, and so some thought should be `where am I going to hang it and on what?`
It looks really nice with neighbors inquiring as to where we bought it.
Two really pesky squirrels have dominated our smaller feeder all summer, despite our efforts to thwart them. They just to seem to sit at a distance and watch me construct yet another obstacle around the stand, and then go about figuring a way around it, which is by the end of the day. Far too clever critters.
Since we put this feeder up on the post, we have watched both ornery pests try their hardest to get to the seed and fail every time. Half expecting them to show up the following day with a chain saw. After a weeks failed attempts, they have now stopped coming around. The birds seem to have taken to this new feeder now that they have figured out that our old one is not there anymore. Easy to fill and it does really look nice.

  Home Depot Review, Very nice bird feeder 
Reviewer:

Easy to fill, made to keep squirrels out. very attractive.

  Home Depot Review, Works Well 
Reviewer:

This is an outstanding bird feeder. So far it is 100% effective in keeping squirrels from feeding. Having three tubes available for different type of bird feed allowed me to get rid of two of my feeders that were squirrel prone. It is also entertaining to watch the squirrels trying to get at the bird feed. This feeder is well designed, attractive, and a positive addition to my back yard landscape.

  Home Depot Review, Great Feeder 
Reviewer:

This is a great feeder.Easy to refill it has enough weight adjustments for larger birds.well constructed and also look very nice.I would highly recommend this product.

  Home Depot Review, Excellent product 
Reviewer:

We were looking for a larger sized, squirrel proof bird feeder to enhance our garden. We saw this one and knew we would love it. Immediately after receiving it, we hung it, 10 mins later we had beautiful bluejays (photo attached) and other smaller birds eating the bird seed. We have had a few squirrels around in the past and as we watch the action going on during feeding times during the day, the squirrels do not even attempt to jump on the feeder. However, if they did, the whole feeder lowers to prevent the squirrels feeding on the seeds. Excellent product. Love it. Holds quite a bit of seed and has 3 separate chambers so if you want to use different seed in each chamber, for different types of birds, this would be the perfect bird feeder. We are extremely happy and are thinking of ordering another one. Would definitely recommend this bird feeder to anyone.

  Home Depot Review, Birds Love New Feeder 
Reviewer:

We currently have many bird feeders keeping our featherd friends very happy. Of course the squirrels are in competition to get at the food. NOT WITH THESE FEEDERS! No matter how hard they try they can not get the food out with their sharp claws or tip the feeder on it's side to let the seeds fall out. I was pleased that the birds took to the feeder almost immediately. We love the three different chambers that can hold three different seeds to keep everyone happy. The plastic is thick enough to last through many squirrel attacks and many winters.

  Amazon Review, have used many years 
Reviewer:

This unit works well for me. After about five years the sun degrades the plastic but that is to be expected. Also the springs rusted after a couple of years. I replaced them with mini bungi cords and they worked fine. Really keeps the squirrels away from the food.

  Amazon Review, Great fun to watch the birds! 
Reviewer:

This is a great feeder! Only the little birds and cardinals here in the NE can get to it, and keep the feeder open. I've watched a squirrel try to jump on it and it was kind of amusing to see him slide off the top :). There is plenty of room around the feeder for all kinds of birds, and it is great fun to watch them.

  Amazon Review, Excellent Squirrel Frustrator 
Reviewer:

It took the birds almost a week to get the courage to come to eat at my new feeder. I am assuming that it is the dark coloring that made them apprehensive. But once they started eating, it has been an extremely popular stop during their day. I have a large variety of birds visiting the feeder. Sparrows, Chickadees, Blue Jays, Cardinals, Goldfinches, Purple Finches, Nut Hatches and several of the larger bird varieties. I use a nut and fruit mix and it goes like wildfire. The doves feed on the ground below. I haven't seen one squirrel on the feeder. A huge improvement!

  Amazon Review, Best anti-squirrel device made! 
Reviewer:

I have hung bird feeders for over 30 years, and I used to constantly battle the squirrels! Baffles, slipping springs on poles, tiny doors, and hanging from the roof did not keep the crafty critters from eating my feed and sometimes damaging the bird feeders also. I bought one of these feeders 8 years ago, and have had it outside (midwest Missouri) all year round. It is just starting to fall apart due to weather. This feeder and the other by Perky-pet has solved the squirrel problems! And this feeder is large so I don't have to fill it very often. Great product!

  Amazon Review, Does what it says 
Reviewer:

Birds feed=squirrels stay away=just keep the adjusts in the right holes, so the springs can work according to the size of your birds=and just watch the squirrels give up because the cage closes when the try to feed!!!! Bought 2 =1 for front other for backyard

  Home Depot Review, Exceeded Expectations 
Reviewer:

Purchased this after the squirrels destroyed our previous feeder. I was skeptical at first and had a concern that there was not a tray at the bottom to catch the seeds for birds to feed on. I watched it in action with the covers closing as the squirresl tried to get to the seed. The lack of the bottom catch feeding tray does not seem to be an issue for the birds. I was very pleased at how well this feeder works.

  Support Fantastick! 
Reviewer:

Even though the Perky-Pet Squirrel-Be-Gone III was destroyed from squirrel anticks Customer Support stood by their warranty and sent me a new unit! They listened to the product improvement suggestions and sounded very interested in making a better product. I feel great about buying products from such a customer oriented company. You've got a lifelong customer here.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

This is the closest we have ever come to having our bird feeders, squirrel free! The design is such that the squirrels have a difficult time getting seeds out. Their weight is their demise and watching them trying to get to it is laughable.

Our squirrels are rather ingenious and did everything they could to bring the feeder down. They did succeed one time only because of human error in not attaching the top correctly!

Great product, glad Amazon has it and it's at an affordable price and our birds love it! Doesn't get much better.

  FINALLY! 
Reviewer:

After numerous tries with a multitude of bird feeders, I think we finally hit the jackpot. Even our smartest critters have been frustrated by this unit. Congratulations!

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 23, 2011

Dear Ozzie,

Thank you for your feedback!  We are very happy you and the birds have been enjoying the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337) and even more delighted to hear the squirrels have been frustrated by it! 

If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Product and Service a GREAT pair 
Reviewer:

I have owned several Squirrel Be Gone Feeders for many years and purchased 2 more this season when I relocated some of my other feeders. When the squirrels gave up on the seed and started eating the feeder I went to the web site and did an online chat with Shawn. He was awesome and I now have new feeders for my yard.
It is nice to see that CUSTOMER SERVICE is still alive and well at some companies.
Thank you.


  Almost indestructible 
Reviewer:

Hello, the customer service dept. was a great help to us when we had a problem with red squirels getting on our feeder and destroyed 2 of the inserts. The feeder itself is high quality and holds a lot of seed. I highly recommend this feeder and this company. They stand up for their products.

  love it but 
Reviewer:

I received my Squirrel Be Gone feeder about 5 years ago as a gift from my daughter. I love it. It has held up well for enduring our weather and some of the abuse it has gone through. The squirrels have not been able to feed from it, but I have had fun watching them try. The only critter that succeeded in getting seed from this feeder has been raccoons. They have taken it down and rolled it around until they got all the seed to come out. Yet the only sign the feeder showed of this misfortune was a dent on the lid, probably from when it hit the ground. (I resolve that by tying the hanger onto the hook it was hanging from.)The only other problem has been that a couple times the screw on hanger on top has frozen on. A little Vaseline or chap stick on the threads works well to prevent that. Overall an excellent bird feeder in an area with many gray and black squirrels.

  GREAT FEEDER! 
Reviewer:

I bought the smaller, 3lb, version 2 years ago and though we have lots of squirrels, none have ever been able to defeat this feeder. Birds love it and once they get used to it-they come early morning, midday and evening.

  Service is the best ever! 
Reviewer:

I received a model 309 Seed Barn and a Squirrel-Be Gone III by UPS. On opening the box I found the seed Barn to be broken. Then, as my wife was hanging the Squirrel-Be-Gone III she tipped it over and the top hanger broke off. Red faced, with my hat in hand, I called customer service and spoke to Kyle. I hoped to buy parts for one and a possible replacement for the other. Kyle looked up my online order and, with no questions asked, replaced both at no charge! AMAZING SERVICE! Thanks to all of you at Birdfeeders.com. Oh yes! The birds love 'em too...



  Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder 
Reviewer:

Mikey, it works!! Decorative, functional, reasonably priced, and well supported by the manufacturer. Doesn't get any better than that! Thanks.

  product and support excellent 
Reviewer:

Great product for keeping squirrels away. Had a spring break and had super support in providing the replacements. Recommend both the feeder and the company.

  Review Posted on Amazon.com 
Reviewer:

This is an excellent bird feeder. Squirrels just give up when they get on and the holes close up from their weight. Its the first and only squirrel free feeder I've ever had. Well worth the price and I've recommended it to all my friends.



  Review Posted on Amazon.com 
Reviewer:

We are very happy with this birdfeeder. The finches love it, and though it does effectively keep the squirrels away, it can handle the weight of a grackle or blackbird quite nicely. It also doesn't spill a lot of seed as the birds feed - a big problem with other birdfeeders. As for the comment about the springs rusting - you should know to take your birdfeeders out of the rain, and if they do happen to get wet, they need to be cleaned out for the birds' safety and enjoyment. We highly recommend this birdfeeder, it's beautiful and inconspicuous.



  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

It's a very nice looking anti-squirrel bird feeder compared to other behemoths I've tried in the past. Works well, so far. The only tricky part was learning how to unscrew and open the top to fill the feeder. You have to be careful not to unscrew the bottom as well, which made the feeder kind of fall apart. I easily reattached all the parts once I figured out how to firmly screw in the bottom which now stays "put" while unscrewing the top from the hanger/handle.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

This is a good looking and efficient bird feeder. I never had a problem with squirrels, but if you did this one would do the trick.....its set up so that if ANYTHING heavier than a bird pushes down on the perch, the feeder automatically closes.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

I have acres of woods out my backyard and dozens (hundreds?) of squirrels. After many failed feeders, this one has lasted over 5 years. Squirrels will eat through the the plastic tubes if they can get to them. Same goes for any feeder. If you hang this from a Shepard's hook or even a cable from tree, squirrels will get to it. I've had great success mounting this on a 6 foot high pole located ten feet away from the nearest tree, fence, etc and a squirrel baffle 4 feet up.

It's also important for the post to be straight for the feeder covers to work. If you set this thing up correctly and set the spring tension right, you can keep bigger birds like grackles, pigeons, blue jay's out and keep your seed for the smaller, more colorful birds.

So I guess this isn't "Squirrel Proof" on its own, but properly mounted it can be. I also love being able to put 8 lbs of seed in this! Just unscrew the top and pour it in.

  Home Depot Review 
Reviewer:

Although I never see the squirrels, I'm sure they're out there cheating all the birds out of their seeds. But right now, I am not seeing a lot of birds right now either since moving here. Maybe it's the heat/weather and not the fault of the feeder. Its design looks really nice and not like your boring or tacky feeder. I've had another weighted-design type feeder from another company that needed a part replaced so that it kept working after a number of years. Let's hope this one doesn't need any reworking. Filling of the feeder was easy and not messy. The seeds also don't get wet from rain or sprinklers. It looks real nice in my tree and is why it is in my front yard. Doesn't seem to wave around much in the wind when hanging either. I hate when I see the birds having to hang on for their dear lives!

  Home Depot Review, Birds Love This Feeder 
Reviewer:

We have three bird feeders hanging on a huge tree in our backyard. We have all types of birds that come to our yard for food. The birds will empty this feeder first because it is so accessible and easy to use. It also keeps the squirrels out very well. My only complaint is the lack of a bottom tray to catch the seeds that the birds spill while they are feeding. This feeder is made of quality materials and the spring action to keep out squirrels is easy to adjust and the feeder is very stylish. It has an easy screw off top to fill with three separate compartments for different feed. Birds really do to love this feeder.

  Home Depot Review, Looks Great Works Great 
Reviewer:

After a month this has worked great. No squirrels and just as important no rats. Birds are feeding but the seed has not depleted dramatically as it did on our old style feeder where the squirrels would take their fill each day. There are three pressure settings to tweak the adjustment to accommodate a wide variety of birds.
There are 3 hoppers so you could have 3 different types of feed to attract a wider variety of birds. We get mostly chickadees and stellar Jays.
The feeder is itself is very nice looking. It is elegant to look at. The workmanship is good. The mechanism to drop the grate is well made and the design is simple enough that if something did go wrong it could be easily fixed. The top screws off for easy filling and keeps the seed dry.
The only downside is the hole in the bottom could be larger in diameter to allow it to be mounted to a standard 1/2 inch pole. I am not sure if it the hole is there to be pole mounted or if it is part of the mfg design. The instructions do not indicate it can be mounted so be sure to check with the mfg. if that is your intent.
All in all this looks like it will last for a long time. Will update as needed.

  Home Depot Review 
Reviewer:

This will be my second one because the first one fell about 25 to 30 feet and is bent up pretty bad and the plastic feed tubes cracked. Sure the squirrels swing on it but I've not had one that has worked any better for keeping them out at any price.

  Home Depot Review 
Reviewer:

... and there still isn't.
First and foremost it's a really nicely made bird feeder, with multiple tubes (so you can stock multiple seed types). It looks great, and the birds love it.
It claims to be squirrel-proof... which is a serious claim around these parts. There is a metal cage that sits outside the feed tubes, suspended from springs. When lightweight birds sit on it, it stays in place. When heavy squirrels sit on it, it sags down and covers the seed openings - preventing them from getting their hands in there. It has weight adjustments (in the form of longer or shorter spring lengths).
It managed to fool my squirrels, who appear to be card carrying members of Mensa, for about a half day. By the time I had arrived home from work they had figured out that hanging from it and shaking their body back and forth would rain seeds down to their buddies on the ground. They would then take turns climbing and shaking it.
I'm giving it 4 stars because they waste considerably less seed shaking it then they did digging through it... but it's still not "squirrel proof"

  Home Depot Review 
Reviewer:

The feeder is well made, and looks really nice! The birds LOVE this thing. We initially had problems setting it up though; couldn't find or pick out the best standing hanger for it; due to all the weight from the bird seed on the feeder, we had to pick out a sturdier stand to support it. The bird feeder does include a prop-stand to support the feeder on the ground while you fill it up with seed. Quite handy.
A squirrel couldn't get its paws around the stand well enough to even get to the bird feeder, so we think we are safe for now! But we are fascinated with all the birds that have come to see it and eat from it! The 3 different separated tubes for the different types of seeds is a wonderful idea, but we filled all three with the types of seeds most birds would eat anyways.
Overall, the feeder is extremely easy to put up as long as you have a sturdy hanger for it; don't go out and get one of the cheap hangers unless you're hanging it from a tree; prepare yourself for a true investment. You will thank yourself later for it!

  Amazon Review, I like it 
Reviewer:

I have had one of these feeders before. Ninety percent of the time, it works great. However once in a while, there is a squirrel with a high IQ. The animal will hang by it's hind legs from the top and eat the bird seed. Anyway, I would buy one again.

  finches and chickadees too 
Reviewer:

There are 3 sections to this feeder for seed. I think one section should have feeder tubes with small slits for the finches and chickadees that eat niger seed.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

This is the second time I purchased this product. Not perfect, but still better than other feeders on the market for the same price. The top would not screw on the new one, but I used the top from my old one to replace it, instead of returning the whole feeder. I am happy with this feeder, for the price!

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

We've only had it for a few weeks and the birds love it. Only suggestion so far is a 'catch tray' underneath to catch all the seed that nearly flows out on the ground.

  Great except for plastic 
Reviewer:

This feeder is really good - but determined squirrels will gnaw the plastic indentations where the birds eat. If they are able to gnaw enough of it to pull it out, or rotate it (like ours do), then the seed will spill out. This could be prevented if the manufacturer used metal to surround the holes, and use metal for the indented region.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 26, 2011

Thank you for submitting a review for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  Your improvement suggestions are being shared with our product management team.  We appreciate your feedback!  If you have questions or need assistance do not hesitate to contact Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Pretty Good-Lightweight Squirel Caused a Problem 
Reviewer:

I had a heavier gray squirrel go on the feeder and it worked fine, closed like it should and opened back up when the squirrel left.

An issue I had was a lightweight red squirrel. Even on the lightest setting the feeder didn't close. The squirrel managed to chew two of the plastic cups out of the feeder. The feeder would not hold seed in two of the three feeding tubes. I moved the springs to different locations on the feeder(the wires not intended to hold the springs) and have had success now holding off the red squirrels.

Perky Pet is standing behind their product and sending a whole new feeder as the individual cups are available. This is great customer service and I will definitely buy Perky Pet feeders in the future.

  Home Depot Review, Love it 
Reviewer:

I searched everywhere to find one of these to replace the one I had. It works great to protect from the squirrels and it has a large bird seed capacity so I am not filling it everyday. It has 2 drawbacks. 1) the springs do rust and then eventually break but you can buy cheap replacements ones online or regulalry oil them. 2) the squireel gets smart and starts chewing and clawing at the plastic hubs where the seed comes out. I recommend that when you buy it to hot glue or use other strong glue for the plastic pieces for reinforcement before using. Because once they break off/loosen up its hard to reattach (and find) them. This is the second one I am buying because the birds love it and works great otherwise.

  Review Posted on Amazon.com 
Reviewer:

All the other reviewers had good points. Sometimes, the mechanism does not work or sticks and a squirrel will gnaw away a cup. This feeder does need some maintenance to keep it going. That said, it works very well at discouraging the squirrels. I have a bunch as I have 10 acres of woods behind me. This feeder works so well that they even stop trying. Only occasionally does a new or persistent one try it again. I have tried many feeders over the years. Some were destroyed by the squirrels in a matter of weeks. It may be flawed, but it works better than anything else I have tried. I'm still open to suggestions but I didn't see any in these reviews. With a little care, this feeder has lasted me two years. I feed about 150 pounds of seed a year.



  Works well, But... 
Reviewer:

This functions well with our grey squirrels here in Georgia, BUT...the cage suspension wires rust badly, and since they are thin, break. They should be made of stainless steel. I've been unable to find replacements in hardware stores, and must obtain them from the manufacturer.

  I like it but.. 
Reviewer:

I think this is a pretty good design but it does seem to have a problem with the small squirrels we have here on Vancouver Island, Canada. They just are not heavy enough to cause the baffle to drop. So I am experimenting with replacing the "paperclip' like wire hook on the end of the springs with a slightly longer wire. This means it takes less weight to close the door. It is not perfect yet and may need a bit more tweaking but I think I am on the right track. In the meantime, my wife gets a kick out of the battle of the brains between me and the squirrel.

  smart squirrel 
Reviewer:

perky-pet-squirrel-be-gone III feeder, has been figured out by the squirrel. Squirrel watched feeder for about three weeks from a safe tree across the feeder. Brought squirrel friend, both squirrels looked at feeder intensely. For a while, no squirrel in area. Then- much to my surprise and dismay, I saw squirrel hanging on feeder upside down, with legs anchored securely on top wire, and happily feeding on birdseed, without closing the hole. Although I enjoy this birdfeeder very much, it is not quite squirrel proof. I do appreciate however, that it is not as wasteful as other feeders are. Keep working at it, someday you might outsmart the squirrel. Sincerely, Petpeep

  It works, and is the only one I've found that really does. 
Reviewer:

This feeder is one of the few squirrel-proof designs that really is squirrel-proof. Not only that, but it helps to deal with excess grackles in summer - two of them trying to feed at the same time trip the mechanism too. It can be hung using the top loop or pole mounted, although if you have chipmunks you'll still need a small baffle for pole mounting - chipmunks aren't heavy enough to close the baffles. One warning though, it's sold in two sizes, and the smaller one is so small that squirrels can hook a rear leg around the ring, lean over the edge of the roof and reach the top hole without closing the baffles. What's wrong with it? About 30% of the seed ends up on the ground, because the bottoms of the interior baffles are higher than the front edge of the access hole. To make it work, glue in pieces of material to lower the inside of the entrance about 5 mm. I used bendable plastic and Pliobond rubber cement. No more waste. The springs are not rust-proof, so if you don't keep them moist with oil they will fail after two years and the baffle will fall shut. See http://sankey.ws/birdfeeder.html for details.

  Review Posted on Amazon.com 
Reviewer:

I like this feeder. I bought the first one over a year ago and have had great success. It is still in good working order and still looks decent. I have several other types of squirrel proof feeders as well and I like this one the best. We have active squirrels but none have gotten to the feed (and they have tried). So, I recently bought a second one and it too is working fine. Not a very expensive feeder on Amazon when compared to other feeders. They are doing good so far.



  Amazon Review, Good feeder 
Reviewer:

Our feeder has held up well even with squirrels try to get past the metal leaves that cover the feed holes when they try to get the feed. The plastic inserts that block the feed from falling out need to be glued after a year because the squirrels and larger birds will attack them. It is not maintenance-free system. You will have to oil the screw on top cap so that it comes free when you refill. Always make sure the baffle wire mechanism is free and blocks the squirrels after refilling and hanging. With proper maintenance, it's a good feeder.

  Amazon Review 
Reviewer:

There is no such thing as "squirrel proof" but this is close. The big metal ones are not able to be set with enough sensitivity to stop squirrels, but this works great. Now if only they can put 3 metal tubes with viewing strip on it to see when to fill. The squirrels eventually chew thru the plastic tubes at the top but this is the only feeder that really works. I might add that it a entertaining to watch the squirrels try.

  broken springs 
Reviewer:

well, i recently purchased my first squirrel-be-gone III feeder. I had very high hopes after years of chasing squirrels from my feeders. it's beautiful and in theory should work perfectly. However, in the first 24 hours, the squirrels had already stretched the springs so far that there is little spring left in them. i find myself going out to the feeder countless times a day trying to adjust what little spring is left so that the holes are not closed for the birds - however, this generally lasts only a few minutes until the quirrels come. Even blue jays or black birds drop the doors on the seed since the springs don't function. i was really hoping that one fill of the feeder would last more than a day without the squirrels stealing all the seed - the way it is now the seed will last forever ! but the birds will not be fed. HELP ! do you have any suggestions ?????


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 17, 2012

Dear Cathe, 

 

We are sorry to hear that your Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (337) was damaged by squirrels. Battling squirrels can be a never ending battle for many back yard bird feeders. Depending on the squirrel population in your area a more holistic approach is often needed to deter them. Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our learning center. 

 

Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can assist you. We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Destroyed 
Reviewer:

I have had 3 Perky-Pet Squirrel -Be Gone feeders. The first one lasted for several years and worked fine until it simply wore out. The last 2 have each lasted only a short time as the squirrels have chewed the plastic until they would no longer hold feed.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 05, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Squirrels can be a headache for many bird feeder enthusiasts. Feeder placement can play a large role in keeping them at bay. If possible, try mounting your feeder at least five feet off of the ground and ten feet away from any launching point the squirrel may try to jump from.  If you would like more information regarding squirrell-proofing your feeder you can visit our learning center

 

Also, keep in mind that your feeder is covered with a one year warranty. 

 

Please contact our Consumer Relations team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Busted - Squirrel figured it out 
Reviewer:

Well I have had this a couple a months and apparently a new squirrel has entered our territory. Much like the velociraptors in Jurassic park, he has systematically attacked all our feeders.
After about 3 days on this one: Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder, he figured it out.

He "hangs" upside down by his hind legs from the top and uses his front paws to pull but the protective barriers to access the seeds. Now we need to put out a contract on this guy, before he teaches the less intelligent squirrels how to do the same thing at worst, and give them hope they can crack the other feeders. All the other squirrels gave up years ago.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 13, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder was damaged by squirrels. Battling squirrels can be a never ending battle for many back yard bird feeders. Depending on the squirrel population in your area a more holistic approach is often needed to deter them. Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our learning center.  Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Nice product - need replacement springs 
Reviewer:

My feeder is working fine, but the squirrels have jumped onto it repeatedly and damaged the springs. How can I get replacements?

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 20, 2012



Dear Lee,

 

Thank you for submitting an online review for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model #337). We are happy to hear you and the birds have enjoying your feeder!

 

Replacement Perky-Pet® Springs (model #337S) are available on our website.

 

Don’t forget, your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please Do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973). We are happy to assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Almost worked 
Reviewer:

The Squirrels have hung from the top of the feeder and chewed through the plastic holes and removed the little caps inside that stop the bird seed from running out. I tried wrapping cut up soda cans around the plastic and they chewed through that also. If the container for the seed was made out of glass, it would be 100% squirrel proof.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 20, 2012

Dear Sharlene,

 

Thank you for reviewing the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Battling squirrels can be an everyday struggle for many back yard birdfeeders like yourself.

 

Often times adding a more holistic approach can help in protecting your feeders from these unwanted seed bandits. Try hanging your feeder 10 feet away from the nearest launching spot as squirrels can jump approximately 8 feet vertically. They can also jump 4 feet high, so be sure to hang your feeder 5 feet off of the ground.

 

Above all else we want you to be happy with your Perky-Pet®. Your feeder is backed by a one year warranty. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Squirrel Won 
Reviewer:

I read where a customer had a problem with the Squirrels damaged there Feeder.
I have had the same problem with the squirrels, I even put axle grease on the pole, they completely destroyed the plastic seed cup rings. I'll try the Customer Relations number that was printed in previous review.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 20, 2012

Dear Don,

Thank you for your online review! We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Your feedback has been shared with our product management team. It is important that we understand your experience in detail. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help.

 

We look forward to working with you!


Jessica
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  would not buy again, no parts available 
Reviewer:

1 year warranty(keep you reciept)after that no parts but springs available. 3 plastic vanes that keep seed compartments separated can curl and warp in hot weather making reassembly much harder and don't drop any plastic parts as there are none available for replacement.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

FEBRUARY 26, 2011



Thank you for your review! As you have mentioned at this time the only replacement parts available for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337) are the springs (model 337S). However we are working towards making more replacement parts available for our feeders. This makes your feedback concerning replacement parts for your particular feeder so much more invaluable.

 

We appreciate the time taken to contact us. If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Disappointed: Squirrels have gotten to the bird feeder 
Reviewer:

I am really disappointed the squirrels did get to the feeder and chewed the plastic. I brought in the house. I am really mad about this. I have it hanging on a pole.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 24, 2011

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are sorry that you had damage to your feeder.  Fighting squirrels is a tough battle.  It is best to take a holistic approach to preventing squirrel damage to feeders; pole mounting your feeder, making sure it is at least 10ft from the closest launching point and at least 4-5 ft above the ground.  Please let us replace the feeders for you and combined with the holistic approach we should be able to overcome the squirrel damage.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Birdfeeder 
Reviewer:

Birdfeeder is good. The squirrels eat the plastic part that keeps the seed from falling out. It would be a great feeder if you offered those plastic pieces as replacements. I can't fill the feeder up, I cant buy the plastic parts.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 16, 2011

Dear Rocky,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are happy to report that we are currently working on making many of our parts available for replacement on our website.  Until then we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.  If you have questions or need assistance do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  No wire means squirrels 
Reviewer:

I have another perky pet Squirrel Buster feeder that works well, due to the wire that attaches to the top. This model has NO wire so squirrels can easily hang from the roof/top/cover and dangle 1/2 their body over and get seed. Or they bounce off it knocking seed out to the ground. Either way they eat. This should have a wire.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 09, 2013

Dear Leslie,

There are a few things you can do to prevent squirrels from accessing your feeder. Squirrels can jump up to 8 feet horizontally, so you want to try hanging or pole mounting your feeder at least 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching point. Squirrels are also able to jump 4 feet vertically so you will want to make sure your feeder is 5-8 feet off of the ground. Adding a squirrel baffle is also an effective deterrent. Baffles can prevent the squirrels from stretching down from a tree branch and stealing food.

We hope this information has been helpful and we are sorry to hear of your experience with the squirrels feeding off your Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder. This feeder is backed by a one year warranty. Our Consumer Relations Team is available to further assist you at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Design Flaws 
Reviewer:

I really like this feeder but I've found 3 design flaws that the mfr should address. [Note: The feeder is ~1 year old.]

- The springs on the side all rust. Very unattractive.
- When the feeder was almost empty, it somehow "unscrewed" and dropped the feeder to the ground. Never saw this happen with any other feeder I've had and hasn't happened since (it had been tight).
- Latest is I filled it and found that the brass knurl pulled out of the plastic base. I resolved this by putting a locking nut under the base, but this part of the design definitely needs attention.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 02, 2013

While we are pleased to hear that you like this feeder, we regret to hear of the three major design flaws you encountered. This feeder should help prevent squirrels from accessing the bird seed without any modifications. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your comments are appreciated and will be passed along to our Product Managers for review. It’s important to note that our feeders are backed by a one year warranty. For additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  NON Squirrel proof 
Reviewer:

I have been using this type feeder for years, but recently our squirrels have been tearing them apart so fast, that I am no replacing them almost once a month!!! the squirrels hang from the top, bend the metal, and then chew up the plastic. They also chew up the plastic at the top of the tube-destroying the top third of the tube!
I have used red pepper in the seeds, as was recommended, but they must like the "hot seed", cause it doesn"t even slow them down.
Help - is there anything to keep them from damaging my bird seed holders???
I give them plenty of corn on the cob, loose corn and whole peanuts, but even before those are gone, at least one is up on the bird seeder.
I need something that really keeps the squirrels - like a solid metal tube!

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 18, 2013

Dear Dorothy,

Thank you for your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We are sorry to hear that squirrels have been able to damage this feeder.

Squirrels can be very persistent and sometimes a more holistic approach is needed to deter them. You may want to try placing or hanging your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access.

Your comments and ideas are appreciated and have been shared with our Product Development Team. Please keep in mind that this feeder is covered by a one year warranty.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Squirrels Love these Feeders 
Reviewer:

I thought this was a real answer to my squirrel problems at bird feeders. Over the last two seasons, I have purchased three of these feeders, and placed them on sheperds poles in my backyard. Initially they appeared to work well. I will never underestimate squirrels again. They have learned how to jump onto the feeders, and litterally eat the plastic liner in the feeder. They attack the cups that help position the bird seed at the feeding holes. The eat the flanges off of the cups and the cups drop off the liner. The seed is then easily accessed by the squirrels. They unit does operate properly, and closes the ports fairly well when the squirrel jumps to the feeder. Once there, the squirrels push the leaf metal covers to the side of the feeding holes and eat on the plastic until they get access to the seed. I know have two disfunctional feeders. I have learned how to take them apart and rebuild them. I use parts from totally destryed units to repair others. I believe the food port covers need to be larger to keep the squirrels from accessing the edges and chewing through the palstic. I will look for another feeder to solve my problems.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 17, 2013

Dear Jim,

Thank you for your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We are sorry to hear that squirrels have been able to damage this feeder. Your comments and ideas are appreciated and have been shared with our Product Development Team.

Squirrels can be very persistent and sometimes a more holistic approach is needed to deter them. You may want to try placing or hanging your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access.

Your comments and ideas are appreciated and have been shared with our Product Development Team. Please keep in mind that this feeder is covered by a one year warranty.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Not very good! 
Reviewer:

Within a week squirrels had broken one of the feeding ports and jammed the "cage" so that it would not work correctly. A squirrel then managed to chew on the outer shell until it cracked. Even after repairing these damages, the feeder does not function because seeds become jammed between the tube and the outer "cage" which jams it down and prevents birds from feeding.

The feeder is a "good idea" but needs a redesign to eliminate these basic flaws. Add a few $$ and get the more costly feeders.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 02, 2013

Thank you for your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We are sorry to hear that this feeder has been damaged. These comments have been shared with our Product Development Team for use in our quality control measures.

Squirrels can be very persistent and sometimes a more holistic approach is needed to deter them. You may want to try placing or hanging your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access.

Please keep in mind that your feeder is covered by a one year warranty. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Falls apart 
Reviewer:

The 1st time I used this feeder it was on the ground in seperate pieces after only 4 days.
I don't know if it was missing pieces that should lock the top and bottom of the of the screw rod.
Also, the plastic divider inserts in the center were broken. I am thinking it was missing a part that should have held it together, can anyone tell me about this?

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JANUARY 15, 2013

Thank you for your online review! We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback regarding the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337) and we apologize that the feeder was damaged. At Perky-Pet®, we pride ourselves on producing items of the highest quality and we are sorry that this feeder did not live up to those standards. These comments have been shared with our Product Development Team for use in our quality control measures.

 

We would like to work with you to make this right. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).

 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Not really Squirrel proof 
Reviewer:

The sides close to keep the squirrels out so instead they just crawl down the sides and chew holes in the plastic bottom causing the seeds to pour on the ground. The smaller version of this feeder has a metal bottom, unsure why this larger version has the plastic bottom making it useless to keep squirrels away! So instead of just stealing the seeds from the sides, the feeder is rendered useless with holes in the plastic at the bottom.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Squirrels can be a headache for many bird feeder enthusiasts. Feeder placement can play a large role in keeping them at bay. If possible, try mounting your feeder at least five feet off of the ground and ten feet away from any launching point the squirrel may try to jump from. You can also visit our learning center for more tips.  Please keep in mind that your feeder is covered with a one year warranty. 

 

Please contact our Consumer Relations team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can assist you. 

 

 We look forward to hearing from you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Squirrels broke it! 
Reviewer:

Squirrels broke this Squirrel-Be-Gone Feeder, chewing off the plastic covers of the feeding Ports so the seed poured out.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

MAY 02, 2012

Dear Debbie,

 

Thank you for your online review! We are sorry to hear how squirrels damaged the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). This feeder is covered under a one year warranty, when was your feeder purchased?

 

Squirrels can be such a nuisance when it comes to back yard bird feeding. Using a spring loaded feeder like this is a great way to help deter them. If you live in an area with a large squirrel population sometimes it is necessary to resort to a more holistic approach in protecting your feeder.

 

You may want to consider hanging or pole mounting your feeder 10 feet away from where a squirrel can jump horizontally. You will also want to keep the feeder at least 5 feet off of the ground. We hope you find this tip helpful! Please be sure to let us know when your feeder was purchased so we can better assist you.

 

Our Consumer Relations Team is available at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) to help.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Not as good as advertised 
Reviewer:

I bought it after I read the marketing reviews (only good reviews seem to be posted). The squirrel crippled it on day-one! The mechanism is held up by three springs and one got mangled by the squirrel - it went down and blocked the eating ports - for the squirrel AND the birds! I have to manually get it unstuck everytime a squirrel gets on it!!! The metal that covers the eating ports are flimsy; the squirrel was able to bend it considerably. Customer service is poor.  I sent online customer message and got NO response. When i called they promptly sent three springs (they seemed to know the problem with this model). Let's see if they have the integrity to post negative reviews!

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 09, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are sorry that you had damage to your feeder.  Fighting squirrels is a tough battle.  It is best to take a holistic approach to preventing squirrel damage to feeders; pole mounting your feeder, making sure it is at least 10ft from the closest launching point and at least 4-5 ft above the ground. 

 

Please let us replace the feeders for you and combined with the holistic approach we should be able to overcome the squirrel damage.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Works for a while 
Reviewer:

I've bought 4 of these type feeders and don't think I would spend my money on another one. I've found that the feeding holes do close up as advertised however after a few months the squirrels chew through the plastic and get the seeds. If it were glass I would give it a 5.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 01, 2011

Dear Fay,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are sorry that you had damage to your feeder.  Fighting squirrels is a tough battle.  It is best to take a holistic approach to preventing squirrel damage to feeders; pole mounting your feeder, making sure it is at least 10ft from the closest launching point and at least 4-5 ft above the ground.  Please let us replace the feeders for you and combined with the holistic approach we should be able to overcome the squirrel damage.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  squirrels eat there way through the plastic 
Reviewer:

I purchased this feed on Mother's day weekend the squirrels hang upside down on the unit and they ate the feed ports until they came loose and then its feeding time they ate four of the ports off and are enjoying my bird food. This lasted a very short time and was a bit costly considering the price of the others that were at the store. I say overall a bad buy need one with metal container and ports.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We’re very sorry to hear of your experience with the squirrels using this feeder.

There are a few things you can do to prevent squirrels from accessing your feeder. Squirrels can jump up to 8 feet horizontally, so you want to try hanging or pole mounting your feeder at least 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching point. Squirrels are also able to jump 4 feet vertically so you will want to make sure your feeder is 5-8 feet off of the ground. Adding a squirrel baffle is also an effective deterrent. Baffles can prevent the squirrels from stretching down from a tree branch and stealing food.

Above all else, we want you to be satisfied with your purchase. Our feeders are backed by a 30-day refund policy as well as a one year warranty. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Very poor design 
Reviewer:

This is the second one of these feeders that does not hold together. It was the free replacement I received from perky pet. I was unscrewing the top to refill it and it unscrews the bottom of the long wire in the middle and the whole thing falls apart. I cannot find any part that should have been locking the bottom of the rod. The other issue I have is the seed ports have been chewed up by squirrels. And I do not see these seed ports as being in the replacement parts, so now what do I do? I would not recommend this feeder to anyone because it does not hold up.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 12, 2013

When refilling this feeder, you may need to place one hand on the feeder to keep it steady while only the lid is being unscrewed. The knob should not be removed from the lid. Once the lid has been removed, this will allow the tubes to be filled with seed and the inner section of the feeder still intact.

Unfortunately, we do not have any replacement seed ports for this feeder. Often taking a holistic approach is necessary in order to prevent squirrel damage. Try hanging your feeder 10 feet away from the nearest launching spot as squirrels can jump approximately 8 feet vertically. They can also jump 4 feet high, so be sure to hang your feeder 5 feet off of the ground.

We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry to hear of your experience with the longevity of the feeder. Above all, we want you to be satisfied with the feeder. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team for further assistance at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  The Worst Piece of Junk Ever !!! 
Reviewer:

I bought this at BJ's Wholesale Club. I paid $37.99. The spring function did not work and snapped ! So, what is the point of a squirrel proof feature !!!! The feeder is ridiculous to fill with seeds in the three chambers. The screw-on top is annoying. All in all, this is a piece of junk !!!

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 05, 2013

Dear Jackie,

The springs should not have snapped like this on the Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder. Perky-Pet® is known for its long history of providing high-quality products. We regret that you received something that does not meet that standard. Your comments have been shared with our Product Management team to be used in our quality control measures. We would like to learn more about your experience and offer additional assistance. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can better assist you.


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  not squirrel proof 
Reviewer:

Started great and then they started chewing away the next to bottom port and the it was an open house for all meals. I tried to put a piece of tin to close off the enlarged opening but the just opened another feed port.
Suggest that you enhance the plastic and not use thin inferior material.


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 01, 2013

There are a few things you can do to prevent squirrels from accessing your feeder. Squirrels can jump up to 8 feet horizontally, so you want to try hanging or pole mounting your feeder at least 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching point. Squirrels are also able to jump 4 feet vertically so you will want to make sure your feeder is 5-8 feet off of the ground. Adding a squirrel baffle is also an effective deterrent. Baffles can prevent the squirrels from stretching down from a tree branch and stealing food.

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review for the Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been shared with our Product Development Team for use in their quality control measures. Please keep in mind that this feeder is covered under a one year warranty. If you have questions, our Consumer Relations Team is available to assist you at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Squirrel Attraction - Don't waste your time or money 
Reviewer:

I have been non-stop chasing this squirrel off. The metal leaves don't match up and have been feeding this squirrel for days. So frustrated. Do not get this unless you want to feed a few birds and ALL of the squirrels around.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 29, 2013

Dear Rick,

Thank you for your online review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337) and are sorry to hear of the difficulties that you have experienced with this feeder. Your comments regarding the leaves have been shared with our Product Development Team for use in our quality control process.

The leaves should line up directly with the ports. We would like to work with you to make this right. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Frustraiting 
Reviewer:

This is my first review for any product purchased, but this product is so infuriating I am responding. Very difficult to fill the feeder and then screw the top of correctly. Very user unfriendly. No instructions came with the product. Went on this seit and could not find instructions for the larger feeder (Suirrel-be-gone 3)Once I finally got the top back on after much hassle the spring loader did not work. I am returning the feeder because I do not want this hassle every time I have to have to fill the feeder.


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 11, 2013

Dear Bob,

Thank you for your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We are sorry to hear of the difficulties that you have experienced with this feeder. We would like to learn more about your experience and offer additional support. Also, please keep in mind that our feeders are covered by a one year warranty as well as a 30 day return policy.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).

We look forward to hearing from you and being able to assist you further.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  poor design 
Reviewer:

The finches love the feeder,but they wasted half of the sunflowers on the ground.The holes are to big or the baffle is not big enough.The second day the squirrels tore the springs up,they stretched them out.Now the feeder is worthless.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

MARCH 22, 2013

Dear Denny,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Feeder (model 337). We appreciate your feedback and have shared these comments with our Product Development Team.

The springs on this feeder are replaceable, and can be found on our website. http://www.birdfeeders.com/store/parts/337sr


Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.

Please keep in mind that this feeder is covered by a one year warranty.We look forward to working with you to make this right.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Squirrel ate the plastic away 
Reviewer:

Unfortunately my squirrels are very persistent and ate through the plastic at the end of the first week of hanging. It was worth a try. I think our draught conditions have them panicked and they eat through anything just to get enough food?!


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Squirrels can wreak havoc for back yard birdfeeders such as yourself. Often times, small changes can make all the difference. Try hanging your feeder 10 feet away from the nearest launching spot as squirrels can jump approximately 8 feet vertically. They can also jump 4 feet high, so be sure to hang your feeder 5 feet off of the ground. Above all else we want you to be happy with your Perky-Pet® feeder. Your feeder is backed by a one year warranty. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help. We look forward to hearing from you!


Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  not so 
Reviewer:

the squirrel proof feeder did not keep the squirrels away. plus the handle on the feeder broke. no way to hang it.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 5, 2012

Dear Riz, 

 

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that then handle has broken on your Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). Squirrels can be such a nuisance when it comes to back yard bird feeding. Using a spring loaded feeder like Perky-Pet® Limited Edition Copper Squirrel-Be-Gone™ Wild Bird Feeder (model 336C) is a great way to help deter them. If you live in an area with a large squirrel population sometimes it is necessary to resort to a more holistic approach in protecting your feeder. You may want to consider hanging or pole mounting your feeder 10 feet away from where a squirrel can jump horizontally. You will also want to keep the feeder at least 5 feet off of the ground. 

 

Your feedback is appreciated and your comments regarding the design of the base of this feeder has been shared with our product development team. Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team so we can assist you regarding this matter at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Very disappointed in Feeder, Model 337 
Reviewer:

I bought the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder, Model No. 337, at Halifax Seed on Rothesay Avenue,Saint John.. bought on a cold winter day in February 2012, within a month this very attractive,expensive, squirrel proof-feeder was destroyed, squirrels had eaten the plastic rings so that the black sunflower seeds just poured out.
I paid over $90.00-Canadian for a promise of a bird-feeder that supposedly was squirrel proof. It did not function properly, the weight of a squirrel did not make any impression on the model #337, the squirrels easily sat there and ate away, finally chewing the plastic rings holding the food in, at each station. I would recommend no one buy this model #337. I would suggest to designers, use of a metal liner rather than plastic. It just doesn't work, even though all springs are adjusted to the same setting; it is a very expensive disappointment for we bird lovers.
I am out over $90.00 but have learned a lesson. I am passing that onto readers !


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). We are sorry to learn about your experience with the feeder and would like to offer you some suggestions.

 

Squirrels can be very resourceful pests and if there is a food source available, particularly in the winter weather, they will make every attempt to get to the food source. However, they should not have been able to access the ports. In order to compensate for the weight of the squirrels it is suggested to set the springs at the lower level.

 

Often taking a holistic approach is necessary in order to prevent squirrel damage. If you have a pole mounted feeder and want to make it squirrel proof, position it at least 10 feet away from potential perches (trees, garage, etc.). Squirrels can jump 4 feet vertically so to ensure your pole feeder is truly squirrel proof, make sure it is at least 5-6 feet off the ground. Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty.

 

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so that we can help.

 

We look forward to working with you.


Jess
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  If you have red squirrels - forget it! 
Reviewer:

Works fine for gray squirrels but here in Massachusetts we also have red squirrels and they aren't heavy enough to extend the springs. They can eat all they want and if you don't keep it full they eat the plastic to get inside! And flying squirrels are even lighter so they have no problem at all but that's ok because my wife likes him and he doesn't eat much.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 20, 2012



Thank you for reviewing the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III Feeder (model 337). We appreciate your feedback. This feeder has 4 sensitivity settings that can be adjusted to make up for the weight of smaller squirrels. Be sure to set your springs to the top most holes for lighter squirrels.

 

We hope you find this tip helpful. If you still experience issues it may be necessary to try a more holistic approach to protecting your feeder. Try hanging or mounting your feeder 10 feet away from the nearest launching spot as squirrels can jump approximately 8 feet vertically. They can also jump 4 feet high, so be sure to hang your feeder 5 feet off of the ground.

 

Above all else we want you to be happy with your Perky-Pet®. If you have questions or need assistance please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help.

Best regards,

 

Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Poor quality 
Reviewer:

I bought this feeder just over 1 year ago.  It is poor quality!! Last week I filled it with seed ,hung it up and 20 minutes later it's on the ground destroyed. The insert in the nut that the feeder hangs from slid out of the nut.  Perky pet won't stand behind their poor designed feeder.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 20, 2012

Dear John,

Thank you for your review! We are sorry about your experience using this feeder. Your feedback is very important to us. The Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III as with all of our feeders is backed by a one year warranty.

 

We are so happy we were able to work with you and provide you with a replacement feeder. If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).

Best regards,

 

Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  NJ Squirrels are tough 
Reviewer:

This was a Christmas Gift. It was up for 2 days and our squirrels figured out how to wreck it. It is totally in pieces. Guess Perky-Pet people never had to deal with New Jersey Squirrels. Worst feeder I have ever had.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

FEBRUARY, 2012

Thank you for your online review! We are sorry that squirrels were able to damage your feeder in this way. Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please be sure to contact us, we would be happy to work with you to make this right.

 

Using a spring loaded feeder like the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ III (model 337) can be a very effective way in preventing squirrels from raiding your birdseed. Sometimes depending on the squirrel threat in your area adding a more holistic approach is necessary in protecting your feeder from damage. Try hanging or pole mounting your feeder 10 feet away from a squirrels launching site (tree, railing…). Also since squirrels can jump 4 feet vertically keep it 5 feet off of the ground.

 

We hope you find these tips helpful when placing your new feeder. If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Squirrel Be Gone Squirrel Buffet 
Reviewer:

Bought two of these feeders two years ago. Squirrels learned to bend the edges of the leaves out. Then they chew the seed dispenser rings/cups at the ports until they fall out. When the ring/cups fall out, all the seed from that third of the feeder pours out on the ground like a slot machine paying off. The hardware store where I bought them said they were under warranty and replaced them last year. While talking to them about the problem, a lady standing next to me said she had the exact same problem with hers. Within three weeks the squirrels had destroyed the replacement feeders. The "friendly hardware person" suggested I put the feeders where the squirrels couldn't get to them????? And the point of squirrel proof feeders is? I sent an E-mail to Perky Pet about the problem asking for suggestions and if they would sell replacement seed cup/rings so I could replace the damaged ones myself. I got no response from customer service. So much for two rather expensive feeders.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

DECEMBER 21, 2011

Dear Chip,

Thank you for your online review!  We apologize for any miscommunication to your request for assistance.  We are sorry that you had damage to your feeder.  Fighting squirrels is a tough battle.  Like your friendly hardware person mentioned, it is best to take a holistic approach to preventing squirrel damage to feeders; pole mounting your feeder, making sure it is at least 10ft from the closest launching point and at least 4-5 ft above the ground.  Please let us replace the feeder for you.  Combined with the holistic approach we should be able to overcome the squirrel damage.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can assist you.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Model #337 squirrel b-gone feeder a joke! 
Reviewer:

I have been feeding birds for 25 yrs. I thought that Perky Pets Squirrel b-gone feeder Model #337 was a good feeder. I bought two and what a JOKE! After the squirrels chewed the cheap plastic seed ports, all the seed poured out. Also the metal rod in the center eventually will come right out and the feeder falls apart! I spent much time and frustration trying to repair these feeders with no luck. I thought Perky Pet was known for better made products than this! I will be contacting customer service for different style replacement feeders FREE for my dis-satisfaction, if not I will never purchase another Perky Pet product!

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

OCTOBER 08, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1.  Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty and we would be happy to offer you a replacement feeder of similar value.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Ports fall off after 3 months. No replacements available 
Reviewer:

For the price, you would think this was a quality product. It is not. The ports fall off after 2-3 months of use making the thing unusable. Perky Pet does not appear to offer replacement ports, therefore you a left with no choice but to throw it away and make decisions on what brand feeder you want to replace it with.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337).  We are sorry to hear about your experience! Your ports should not have fallen out after only 3 months.  We are working on making many of our parts available for replacement on our website.  Until then we will gladly assist you regarding this matter.  Your Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder is covered under a one year warranty.  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can make this right!

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Doesn't work 
Reviewer:

Nice looking feeder but when a squirrel gets on it and it shuts off the feeding holes, it will not retract to the open position.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 14, 2010

The Perky-Pet Squirrel-Be-Gone III Feeder (model 337) is designed to allow birds to feed comfortably on its sturdy metal perches; however, when squirrels attempt to perch on them to feed, their weight causes the metal casing to slip down, completely blocking the feeding ports and their access to seed.  Once the squirrel leaves and its weight has been lifted, the metal case returns to its original position, opening the ports for birds to have access.

 

It sounds like the springs in your particular feeder may need to be replaced.  Replacement parts for many our feeders can be found under the Parts link of our website, www.birdfeeders.com.  Our bird feeders, as with all of our products, are covered by a 30 day guarantee and a 1 year warranty.  We would be happy to set up a time with you to further discuss your concerns, or feel free to contact us at the following:

 

Email: consumercare@woodstream.com

Phone: 1-855-PERKYPET (855-757-5973)


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



 

RELATED PRODUCTS

8 lb. seed capacity, each feeder
$123  $69.95 Sale
(52)
 
2 lb. seed capacity
$37.95
(14)
 
 
Wild Animal Control Lawn Care Flower Garden Vegetable Garden Home and Garden Decor Pest Control Dog Supplies