Login   |  My Account
Seed Feeders, Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder, 398
Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder

Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder

model #: 398

Best Used For:
Attracting and feeding goldfinches while keeping squirrels at bay. One of our finch bird feeders, this patented squirrel-resistant feeder features six upside down feeding stations designed to attract goldfinches who can feed upside down, while other species cannot. read full product details »  

US Availability:
Canada Availability:
Eligible for Free Shipping

Customer Reviews

Read All Reviews  
Perky-Pet® Patented Deluxe Upside Down® Thistle Feeder is rated 4.4375 out of 5 by 16.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Upside Down Feeder and Woodpeckers Several years ago I discovered the Perky Pet Upside Down Finch Feeder. We have even given them as gifts. Our feeders are not near trees; but this year, we're having a problem with a woodpecker, which we've never had before. It keeps damaging the plastic tubes to the point that the feeders are unusable. We really enjoy watching the finches and love the fact that it had stopped intruders until now. Do you make a feeder with a glass or metal tube?Thank you,Charlie
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the goldfinches This is the perfect item to keep your thistle seed for only goldfinches. Birds should be placed upside down to be able to reach one of the six upside down feeding stations, and goldfinches are the only birds able to feed while they are backwards. For a couple of days, other kind of birds will try to reach the seeds and they get frustrated and won't come back !
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from overpriced! I returned this feeder. I found the plastic tube flimsy and overpriced for the poor quality.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Review, Great Feeder! This is not our first Perky Pet upside down finch feeder (our others have worn out), but it is our first Deluxe model. We find that it seems heavier and more durable than the standard one. The plastic tube seems thicker. The perches and the bottom piece fit snuggly and won't fall out. The American Gold Finch is the only finch that comes to feed on this feeder...other finches and other birds try, but can't seem to hold on when they turn upside down, like the goldfinches do! Some people have commented that other birds have used their feeder, but we suggest that those birds may be the females who aren't as bright yellow as the males or perhaps the young ones who haven't gotten all their coloring yet. Also, in the winter, these birds are not brightly colored, but rather dull - almost a brown color. So, rest assured that when you see a bird feeding upside down on this feeder, you most likely are feeding an American Gold Finch! This summer they seem to come at all times during the day, and in the morning and the evening there are several around waiting to get onto a perch! Be prepared with plenty of thistle seed...the feeder holds about 2 1/2 pounds, and they can empty it in just under a week's time at our house! We just love to watch them!
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Review, Love My I call this my "Flip-It Feeder." The gold finch, flip upside-down to eat the thistle seed because the hole is below the post. It's great fun to watch them eat (and in the winter some of the other birds try without success to flip and eat). I live in Ohio and I'd received one of these feeders as a gift, years ago. My old feeder recently fell in a windstorm and broke, so I purchased a new feeder exactly like my old one. The feeder has a metal lid so that the squirrels won't eat through it. I recommend this Upside Down Thistle Feeder for year round backyard bird watching.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Review, finch heaven Why is it that they seem to love hanging upside down??? works great, made well, holds plenty of seed, too.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Review, Well made I would suggest to my bird feeding friends to purchase this feeder because it is built very well and should last a long time. Great price too.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazon Review With some hesitation, I rate this feeder 4 stars, simply because of one thing- it works great and the goldfinches love it. The hesitation is that as others have noted, the plastic tube is so cheaply made. I had this same upside-down feeder a few years ago, and got used to seeing many goldfinches using it all year-round. But the plastic eventually gave way. Since then I have tried 2 other brands, but neither one worked. The last one was a model that had yellow plastic caps and perches. Besides looking gaudy, it didn't work. It was too short and the thistle seed holes were too big. Larger birds could stand on perches and reach up to the feeding holes above, and the least bit of rain soaked the seeds. Worse, goldfinches could not grip the plastic perches- they would try, then give up. The screws in the base started rusting in 2 weeks. This perky-pet model has a longer tube, and the perches and feeding holes are spaced just right. Godlfinches easily grip and hang upside down, feeding as much as they want. The metal cap and perches are well made. But the plastic tube is very thin and cheap, and the V-shaped bottom insert just snaps in. I doubt it will last long, and as I found with my old model, it is difficult to clean. All thistle seed feeders eventually get some moldy wet seed in the bottom and need to be cleaned out. Squirrels aren't too interested in thistle seed, and as long as the feeder is on a hook and out of reach, they leave it alone. But if the hook swivels so it is in reach from a post or fence, squirrels chew through the plastic in a day. I would gladly rate this feeder 5 stars if only Perky-Pet would make the tube out of thick durable plastic or even glass, and design the base to be easily removed for cleaning (a screw-on cap). It would then last for years, and I would pay twice as much.
Date published: 2012-08-05
  • 2015-11-29T06:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_398, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_birdfeeders


10 lb seed capacity