Login   |   My Account
Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder, Model B336
Learning Center
Design a Feeder
Parts
Hot Buys
Free Ground Shipping on All Orders Over $50* ALL Other Orders Ship for $6
*Restrictions Apply »
Seed Feeders, Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook, B336
Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook

Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with Free Metal Hook

model #: B336
  (41)  |  write a review


Best Used For:
Attracting and feeding birds while keeping the squirrels from reaching the seed. A classic among squirrel proof feeders, this feeder has ports that close under a squirrel’s weight, preventing it from raiding the seed supply. Includes FREE 23” metal hook. read full product details »  

$24.95
Quantity:   
US Availability:
In-Stock
Canada Availability:
In-Stock

Customer Reviews

Top Reviews Read All Reviews Write A Review  
Back to Product Detail
  Watch out for sensitive weight springs January 27, 2014
Reviewer: acruzn

I called because a small spring came loose on this feeder. I spoke to Caitlyn(sp). She told me that it connects to the lid.(squirrels are not a big problem for me in SC) I then asked why so little feed has been eaten compared to my other feeders. She had me look at the two big springs to see where they were attached at the bottom. It turns out that they were on the most sensitive weight setting. Only very small birds would be able to feed at this setting. So depending on the birds you want to attract, adjust the two big springs accordingly. Kudos to Caitlyn for the assist!!

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JANUARY 27, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you were able to resolve your issue with one of our great Consumer Relations Specialists, Kaitlyn. The springs on the Perky Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone II (model 336) are indeed adjustable, so we are glad you are now able to use the feeder correctly! Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you need any additional assistance. We can be reached at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).

Best Regards,

Ivory
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Wonderful Company that stands behind their products November 21, 2013
Reviewer: slc

Twice now, this company has gone beyond normal customer service and replaced my feeders, even though they didn't have to. 5 thumbs up to them for valuing their customers. Best company ever!!!


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 21, 2013

We appreciate you providing us with detailed feedback about your experience with our company. We are happy to know that you are enjoying your Perky Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder and hope to continue providing you with reliable and efficient products in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional assistance at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Best Regards,

Ivory
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder REALLY works. May 29, 2013
Reviewer: Cappy

Early this year I replaced a Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder with the same product after 7 or 8 years of use and being weathered. Just this morning (May 29, 2013) I witnessed a squirrel trying to get at the bird seed. The cage slammed shut on him and the food was covered up. Over the years with the previous feeder we never had a problem with squirrels getting at the food til this morning. If anyone is considering a bird feeder I would HIGHLY, repeat HIGHLY recommend this one. It certainly did its job this morning keeping a squirrel out of the food.

  Brilliant Improvements July 12, 2012
Reviewer: OhioFeeder

I have been buying these feeders for several years now, back to when they were branded under the Audobon logo. They dont last forever, but that is not expected. I do want to congratulate you on recent improvements that effectively eliminate the problems I have read of and experienced myself. I had attached additional metal across the gaps when the leaves didn't reach down far enough, and had even added metal clips over the feeder thresholds to deter knawing. Now the new models have all this fixed. Thanks so much for your attention to improving this product.

The only remaining issue is that baby squirrels are not heavy enough to drop the screen....but then who can refuse a baby squirrel? A few hundred seeds later they have grown and have to give up this dinner source.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 16, 2012

Thank you for submitting your online review of the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ Wild Bird Feeder (model 336). We appreciate the time you took to submit your feedback regarding this feeder as well as the improvements made to the feeder. We are happy to hear that the feeder works so well for you. Also, we are glad that the improvements made to the feeder have made it easier for you to use. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Frustrated Squirrels January 29, 2011
Reviewer: zee

It is interesting to watch a squirrel climb the skinny pole, go across to the hangar and go untop of the feeder. BING the spring lowers the sides, squirrel investigates and then hops off. They have excellent memories, it does not try again. They just feed off the ground from the birds feasts.

  Love it, but do this, too November 11, 2010
Reviewer: Mike

This feeder works great! But squirrels are very smart. If they can get to the device, they will gnaw through the plastic parts. What works for me is to put petroleum jelly on the top cap, then sprinkle it with cayenne pepper. Squirrels hate it and will leave the feed alone thereafter. The birds pay the pepper no mind.



  Squirrels b gone for good ! March 30, 2009
Reviewer: Rosi

Right outside my window here by my computer I am watching this one squirrel become terribly discouraged as he clings to the outer housing and searches for the food. Eventually they give up, jump off and never return, knowing their efforts will be futile. It truly works. Thank you.



  They are Awesome! March 18, 2008
Reviewer: Linda

I bought 2 of these feeders. They are awesome. I need to purchase more soon as a bear got mighty mad when he couldn't get to the food so he ripped down my pole an proceeded to entirely destroy them. I will learn to bring them in, in the evening now. They were al.....most bear proof . :.( But great for keeping the pesky squirrels away.

 

A+ product in my eyes.



  smarter squirrels July 22, 2013
Reviewer: Bionicgrndma

I just read the reviews to date regarding this feeder. I purchased two and was very happy that they did indeed prevent the squirrels from eating the seed. Then with all of this rain the seed got stuck in the feeders and started molding. After I got the first one cleaned out I tried to refill it however seed started pouring out...turns out my squirrels have figured out a way to chew into the port making it deeper and allowing them full access to the seed. However they have now ruined the plastic inside tube. So I have sent an email requesting replacement tube for this one...and I have repositioned my seed hanger so they can't get to again (at least not as easy)....

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 23, 2013

While we are pleased to hear of the initial success you had using the feeder, we are sorry that the squirrels were able to access the feeder to chew the seed ports. Unfortunately, we do not have any replacement tubes or ports for this feeder; however this feeder is covered under a one year warranty. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can work with you to resolve this issue.


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Almost squirrel proof July 16, 2012
Reviewer: Shoegodess

I though I had hit the jackpot with this feeder. The mechanisim works just fine, but the squirrels figured out how to hang from the wire and chew a hole thru the feeder. I bummed that I spent $30. on this feeder only to be outsmarted again.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are sorry that squirrels have been invading your feeder causing damage. Using a spring loaded feeder like the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ Wild Bird Feeder (model 336) is normally a very effective way to deter these pesky critters from stealing birdseed. Depending on the squirrel population in your area sometimes using a more holistic approach is necessary. You may want to consider hanging your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our learning center

 

Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty and we would like to offer assistance regarding this is matter. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Don't blow dry June 30, 2011
Reviewer: Merlin

Birds love this feeder and has been effective with squirrels-don't blow dry plastic to hasten drying-plastic melted and is deformed.

  good product June 24, 2011
Reviewer: khammond

My first feeder like this lasted 2+ years. I bought a new one a few months ago. It only lasted 2 months before a squirrel chewed thru the plastic. I don't know if the plastic has gotten thinner, maybe? I am hoping this squirrel moves on while waiting for my new one. I like the idea of metal square frames glued to the plastic openings to deter the little rats.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 26, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet®Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience.  Keeping squirrels at bay can be a constant battle for many back yard birdfeeders.  We would like the opportunity to make this right; please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

There are few things you can do to keep your birdfeeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center.   


We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  You're giving the squirrels too much oportunity to win the war June 20, 2011
Reviewer: Ken

I just hung a new model B336 to replace the one they destroyed. When the cage comes down, the holes MUST be totally covered. On the side with two feeding stations, the top station still shows part of the whole (1/2 inch or more) when the cage is down. This allows the squirrels to chew through the plastic, and drain the feeder. The new B336 has this problem on both 2 feeder station sides. The old one only had the problem on one side. Plus they managed to get the top off and destroy the plastic around the top. The old feeder did not have a flared bottom and the new one does. I expect the squirrels to figure out how to balance on the flared bottom to support their weight while hanging onto the feeder to get at the seeds. I don't expect to win this war, only savor an occasional victory. They are smart and very persistent, just like a 3 year old grandchild!

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 22, 2011

Dear Ken,

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  We have recently become aware of this problem are working towards a solution to prevent this from reoccurring.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  The best out there February 26, 2011
Reviewer: deaconblu

I have had two of these for the last 3 or 4 years. The little darlings have finally destroyed one by chewing throught the wire that suspends the beeder from an internal strut at the top. The feeder survived two 12 foot drops to earth, but it is time for a replacement. Now that they have broken the cord they focus on chewing through the suspension wire. I can't tell from the photos if they have upgraded the wire. I would also suggest that cheyenne pepper be sprinkled on the top layer to before closing the feeder. Birds' GI tracts are are not sensitive to hot peppers like mammals. I recommend this feeder over all others...period. There is no 100% squirrel proof feeder if you dealing with grey squirrels!

  Squirrels Hate It! October 06, 2010
Reviewer: R&L Birders

We just bought it last weekend and have been awaiting the squirrels arrival. They have finally started their attempts to feed and so far, so good (or no good for them). The only drawback we see is the perch is a little too small for Cardinals. They have been trying to feed off it but they seem to struggle as they're a little to large. A slightly longer perch for them would be a nice improvement.

  Very good but could be improved August 19, 2010
Reviewer: Rick

I have used this feeder for years and am currently on my 5th or 6th. The design is great but the squirls do not give up easy. The squirls continually chew at the plastic until they get through.
Now when I buy a new one, I use contact cement to glue 1 x 4" pieces of sheet metal which helps to slow them down.




  Squirrels in the south June 27, 2010
Reviewer: george

You need to add another "notch" (or something) to allow the covers to slide over the feed holes for lighter weight squirrels that we have in Florida--they are much smaller that N.E squirrels-- I managed to loosen the springs just barely enough so most of the holes are covered--but it is not a good solution.

  How to repair? November 17, 2013
Reviewer: Cheryl

I love this feeder...but after having it for not too long, the top won't stay on, and since it hangs from the top, the feeder is unusable. I'd love a quick fix for this! How can I repair it?


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 18, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying our Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder, but unfortunately we do not have any replacement parts available for the lid on this feeder. However, all of our feeders come with a One Year Warranty. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions or if you need additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  No Directions July 10, 2011
Reviewer: Pat

There are no instructions on how to fill the bird feeder. I did push down the metal covering to cover the holes, when filling. But the seeds still fell out. Please let me know the instructions, so I won't have to take this back to the store. Thank you.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 13, 2011

Dear Pat,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  this one is NOT squirrel proof July 15, 2013
Reviewer: dani

This is a ok feeder but is not squirrel proof. I have pictures of the squirrels getting out the seed. They will wrap the tail around the top and use its paw to press down then use the other to pull out the seed. Maybe I just have super smart squirrels!


Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 18, 2013

Using a spring loaded feeder like this is a great way to protect from the damage squirrels can cause. If you live in an area with a large squirrel population sometimes it is necessary to resort to a more holistic approach in protecting your feeder. You may want to consider hanging or pole mounting your feeder 10 feet away from where a squirrel can jump horizontally. Also, be sure to keep the feeder at least 5 feet off of the ground as squirrels can jump up to 4 feet high.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder (model 336). We are sorry to hear that these persistent squirrels have been able to access the feed in this feeder. Above all, we want to ensure that you are satisfied with this feeder. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.


Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  Worked well until squirrels ate through plastic August 21, 2011
Reviewer: Sara

It was fun watching the birds feed and the squirrels try to "break" this birdfeeder. It took them months but they funally did ruin it by eating a large hole in the plastic. What now?

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

AUGUST 24, 2011

Dear Sara,

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  This problem has recently come to our attention.  Our engineers are working on a design that will address the concerns you have mentioned.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Lasted less than 1 week July 24, 2011
Reviewer: Jim

Loved the concept. After a few days of squirrels all over it the springs were streched too far and have been unable to get replacement parts.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 26, 2011

Dear Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the springs on this feeder.  Keeping squirrels at bay can be a constant battle for back yard birdfeeders.  Through time the springs on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder will need to be replaced.  Replacement Perky-Pet® Springs can be purchased at http://www.birdfeeders.com/store/parts. 

The springs on your feeder should have lasted longer than a few days.  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1.  We will gladly send to you a replacement set of springs for your feeder.

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  lasted a month July 04, 2011
Reviewer: John

After one month the squirrels figured out that they could chew a hole in the plastic to reach the seed. Feeder will no longer hold seed.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 06, 2011

Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Doesn't Work July 02, 2011
Reviewer: Cathy

I have bought about 6 of these feeders. They do not keep squirrels out. The squirrels in my yard chewed a hole in the plastic tube that holds the seed and fed freely.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 05, 2011

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  smart squirrels November 06, 2010
Reviewer: PB

I have had this feeder for about 5 years now. At first the squirrels tried and couldn't figure it out but practice makes perfect, the little rats clean the feeder out before the birds get a chance.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 09, 2010

Thank you for your recent online review of our Perky-Pet Squirrel Be Gone feeder, model 336.

 

Battling squirrels at your bird feeders is a constant source of frustration.  Many squirrels can figure out a squirrel resistant feeder in a matter of minutes!

 

There are a few additional things that can be done to help ensure that the squirrel can’t get to the feeder.

 

  • You can pole mount your feeder at least 10 ft away from the nearest tree or fence – squirrels can jump up to 8 ft horizontally.
  • Make sure your feeder is 5 to 8 ft. off the ground – squirrels can jump up to 4 ft. vertically.
  • Adding a squirrel baffle is also another effective deterrent – this prevents the squirrel from stretching down from the tree branch and stealing the food.

If you have any further question or concerns, please feel free to contact us!

 

Email: consumercare@woodstream.com

Phone: 1-800-800-1819 option 1.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Smart Squirels September 19, 2013
Reviewer: deartick

Unfortunately it only took our squirrels 2 weeks to figure it out. They would jump on the feeder, then place their weight on one foot on the base and allow the feeder to go back up so they could get the food. They then gnawed on the base of the seed hole so that no matter if it did go down, they could always get feed and then it just dumped onto the ground. It was a waste of money for me. Good idea, but not good enough for the squirrels.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

SEPTEMBER 23, 2013

The best method for preventing this occurrence is to take steps to eliminate the squirrel’s access to the feeder. Squirrels can jump up to 8 feet horizontally, so you want to try hanging or pole mounting your feeder at least 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching point. Squirrels are also able to jump 4 feet vertically so you will want to make sure your feeder is 5-8 feet off of the ground. Adding a squirrel baffle is also an effective deterrent. Baffles can prevent the squirrels from stretching down from a tree branch and stealing food. A different method is to add safflower seeds to your birdseed mix, as squirrels do not like the taste of the safflower seeds.

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review for the Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder. We are sorry to hear of your experience with the squirrels finding the feeder. We appreciate this feedback and have shared your comments with our Product Managers. Above all else, we want you to be satisfied with your purchase. Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can work with you to make this right.


Best Regards,

Kaitlyn
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet



  problem July 15, 2012
Reviewer: lucky

we just bought our squirrel be gone feeder & it seems it does everything backwards. When squirrels weight is on perch it opens the feeder holes & when there is no squirrel the holes goes close. Plus, there are suppose to be 6 feeding ports but 2 are only open & 4 has no access to with no holes or perches. HELP!!! WE bought it at Home Depot. Is this the way they are suppose to be.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336). We are sorry to hear that your feeder is not working properly. We have recently updated this feeder to prevent that problem, however it sounds as if you have received one of the feeders made prior to the change. 

 

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can work with you to resolve this issue. We look forward to hearing from you!


Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  The former style works much better! April 21, 2012
Reviewer: peg

A couple of years ago, we purchased a 'Squirrel begone' feeder (by perky pet) at Target. It works great! The leafed cage slides down so the squirrels can't get the seed. So, we bought a second one ~ like this. This one has a platform at the bottom which the squirrels quickly figured out how to hold on to it and keep the cage from closing the ports. Needless to say, we threw the newer style away. The good news is we found a second feeder like the first one we have on a display at Lowe's and talked them into selling it to us! Without that platform, the squirrels cannot score the seed and the birds are happy again! I recommend that Perky Pet reinstates the former feeder. Thank you.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 23, 2012

Dear Peg,

 

Thank you for your online review. We are sorry to learn about your experience.

 

The birdfeeder that you prefer is still available for purchase and can be found on our website.  We are happy to hear that you were able to find the birdfeeder in your local Lowe’s retailer.

 

Keep in mind that your original feeder carries a 30 day refund and one year replacement warranty and we would be happy assist you regarding this matter. Please contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so that we can help.


Jess
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Great idea, but squirrels too smart February 05, 2012
Reviewer: edab

I bought this feeder with optimism that I could finally outwit the squirrels in our yard, but I had all the same problems that other reviewers have had. First, I did not have the feeder high enough off the ground so the squirrels just jumped up to it and quickly figured out how to balance on the bottom ledge to relieve the weight pressure just enough to be able to get their noses in and eat away. I then hung the feeder in a tree, putting a baffle on the top to prevent the squirrels from climbing down. I thought my problems were solved until I went to fill the feeder one day and all the seed poured out of an enormous whole that the squirrels had chewed in the feeder. I realized that they were leaping from the trunk of the tree (it's a smallish tree) and were able to wedge their noses in just enough to start chewing away. They had it chewed in about 2 or 3 days. I now have the hole duct-taped and the feeder far enough from the trunk that they can't make the jump, but this seems like a lot of work to go through for a squirrel-proof feeder! Putting the feeder high enough off the ground that the squirrels can't jump and baffling the feeder from a tree branch that is far enough away that they can't jump to it from the trunk is something I can do with a regular feeder, so why invest in a squirrel-proof one?

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 16, 2012



Thank you for your online review!

 

We are sorry that squirrels were able to damage your feeder in this way. Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty. Please be sure to contact us, we would be happy to work with you to make this right. Using a spring loaded feeder like the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ Wild Bird Feeder (model 336) can be a very effective way in preventing squirrels from raiding your birdseed.

 

Sometimes depending on the squirrel threat in your area adding a more holistic approach is necessary in protecting your feeder from damage. Try hanging or pole mounting your feeder 10 feet away from a squirrels launching site (tree, railing…). Also since squirrels can jump 4 feet vertically keep it 5 feet off of the ground.

 

We hope you find these tips helpful when placing your new feeder. If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Squirrels win December 25, 2011
Reviewer: MLB

The squirrels chewed out the feeding hole so there is now a 2" hole in the tube. The seed falls out of the hole so it is now a useless piece of plastic and metal.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

DECEMBER 27, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  It recently came to our attention that the leaves were not covering the port.  Our engineers have worked on the design addressing your concerns you.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  A great squirrel feeder October 30, 2011
Reviewer: Sue

I have had this feeder for a week and I have not had a single bird at the feeder. Meanwhile, the squirrels have eaten all of my seed. The metal leaves that are supposed to close down over the feeding ports are so flimsy the squirrels have actually bent them backward to gain access. I wish I had read some of these reviews before I spent my money on this item.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

NOVEMBER 02, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  It recently came to our attention that the leaves were not covering the port.  Our engineers have worked on the design addressing your concerns you.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Total waste of money July 29, 2011
Reviewer: DeeDee

Bought this in a store. Found it to be defective, so emailed Perty Pet. I was told response in 24 hours. After 4 days, I called. The woman I spoke with sent out replacement. PROBLEM: Bottom of seed tube falls off if a squirrel puts any weight on it. Need to come up with a better way to keep bottom on. The squirrels have chewed any plastic they can reach AROUND the cage. Very disapponinted with this product.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

AUGUST 01, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  This problem has recently come to our attention.  Our engineers are working on a design that will address the concerns you have mentioned.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Model B336 Squirrel B Gone Feeder July 08, 2011
Reviewer: AL

I purchased the above birdfeeder approximately a month ago because of the feature of being squirrel resistant. Within a couple of weeks, the squirrels had learned to sit on the bottom flared ledge of the feeder and they chewed a large hole in the side of the plastic cylinder where they could access the seed. NOW, I can only fill the feeder approximately two inches with seed, or it all pours of of the large chewed hole. I am very disappointed, expecially that I only had it a couple of weeks before it is unusable as intended. This is a poor design of the feeder that the squirrels can perch on the bottom edge and they are unaffected by the weight feature when sitting there.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 09, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Did not work July 04, 2011
Reviewer: bigtoe01

We bought this at Walmart yesterday. My husband saw the squirrel on the feeder today but it was on there for a long time. When he went out to investigate, he discovered that the squirrel chewed a hole in the plastic. So this did NOT work at all.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 06, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Junk June 29, 2011
Reviewer: Tom

This feeder lasted two weeks and the squirrels ate through the plastic sides of the feeder.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 03, 2011

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  It has recently come to our attention that squirrels are eating through the plastic on your feeder.  Our engineers are working on a design with thicker plastic and a clip that will prevent squirrels from chewing and damaging the feeder.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Junk product June 25, 2011
Reviewer: malibu66

Purchased the bird feeder at my local Ace Hardware about 3 weeks ago. The one I had was about 2 years old. Same model but the new one had the bottom skirt on it which made sense with the base attached compared to the old model. But this new one is a disappointment to say the least. Squirrels chewed out the plastic seed opening in 2 weeks. Lost a lot of seed. Won't be buying your products again.... hope others read this review before purchasing.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 28, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  Our engineers are working on a design with thicker plastic and a clip that will prevent squirrels from chewing and damaging the feeder.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Definately Not Squirrel Proof June 24, 2011
Reviewer:

This birdfeeder is not squirrel proof. This feeder was apparently not tested by the inventor or the manufacturer. It does not work and if they had tested it with real squirrels they would have discovered that squirrels are much smarter than they are. They bend the leaves up to access the feeder holes. They grip the top of the spring with their back paws so as not to put their weight on the cage and eat to their hearts delight. It seems to me that this is blatent misrepresentation of a product and false advertising. Birdfeeder? Yes. Squirrel proof? No.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 26, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience.  Keeping squirrels at bay can be a constant battle for many back yard birdfeeders.  We would like the opportunity to make this right; please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

There are few things you can do to keep your birdfeeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  just another squirrel cafeteria June 22, 2011
Reviewer: Ann

I purchased this feeder from our local hardware/garden center. Within 24 hours, our squirrels, which we are convinced are geniuses, had learned to hop on the top of the feeder, causing it to open up, as for replacing the food. Also, when a squirrel did manage to activate the weight balance and close the feeder openings, the feeder did not reopen when the squirrel left. We are returning the feeder to the store.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 25, 2011

Dear Ann,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about your experience!  From your description it sounds like your feeder was not functioning properly.  We would be happy to extend to you a replacement birdfeeder. 

There are few things you can do to keep your new feeder out of reach from squirrels.  Hang your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground.  Also adding a squirrel baffle above and or below your feeder is very effective in preventing squirrels from gaining access. 

For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our Learning Center

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Pitful product. June 01, 2011
Reviewer: John

This self unloads due to the poor bottom design. The old ones are better.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 03, 2011

Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Squirrel Be Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with your feeder.  We have recently become aware of this problem are working towards a solution to prevent this from reoccurring.  We would like the opportunity to make this right!  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can assist you. 

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Doesn't keep squirrels out. May 21, 2011
Reviewer: flopglopple

I have been so frustrated with the squirrels eating up all the bird seed and I cannot afford that much seed. So I finally splurged and bought this feeder. I was so thrilled that the birds could now come and eat! Within a couple of days the squirrels figured out how to get all the seed out and the birds no longer come to eat. I am quite dissatisfied as I could have spent that money on something else - like more bird seed!

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

MAY 23, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone Wild Bird Feeder (model 336).  We are sorry to learn you had trouble protecting your bird feeder from squirrels.  Your experience has been shared with our engineers. 

 

We would like the opportunity to contact you directly regarding this issue as we have recently become aware of this flaw and are in process of redesigning a feeder due to be available soon.  Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1 so we can make this right!

We look forward to hearing from you!


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Unsecure May 14, 2011
Reviewer: Rosie

The bottom portion of the birdfeeder doesn't secure enough. The squirrel hopped onto the feeder and movement of the feeder caused the bottom tray to fall off allowing a flood of bird seed to go down with it.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

MAY 16, 2011

Dear Rosie,

 

Thank you for taking the time to submit an online review for the Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone™ Wild Bird Feeder (model #336).  We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the bottom tray of this product.

 

We are pleased to see that you contacted our Consumer Relations Team in order to resolve the issue, although it is unfortunate that it resulted in your decision to return the bird feeder.  Your experience is being shared with our product mangers to be used in our quality control process.

 

Once again please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused.  If there is anything we can do for you, or if you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at the following:

 

Email:  consumercare@woodstream.com

Phone:  1-855-PERKYPET (855-757-5973)


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 




 

RELATED PRODUCTS

8 lb. seed capacity
$34.95
(37)
8 lb. seed capacity
$39.95
(83)
 
 
Wild Animal Control Lawn Care Flower Garden Vegetable Garden Home and Garden Decor Pest Control Dog Supplies