Login   |   My Account
Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack, Model # BB5109-2 | Birdfeeders.Com
Learning Center
Design a Feeder
Parts
Hot Buys
Free Ground Shipping on All Orders Over $50* ALL Other Orders Ship for $6
*Restrictions Apply »
Seed Feeders, Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack, BB5109-2
Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack

Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder - 2 Pack

model #: BB5109-2
  (12)  |  write a review


Best Used For:
Feeding birds while keeping squirrels from raiding the birdseed. Several innovations make this a superior feeder among squirrel proof birdfeeders: birds keep dry, squirrels keep off, and birdwatchers keep enjoying the feathered fliers. This 2-pack will give you double the viewing pleasure! read full product details »  

$66  $54.95 Sale
Quantity:   
US Availability:
In-Stock
Canada Availability:
In-Stock

Customer Reviews

Top Reviews Read All Reviews Write A Review  
Back to Product Detail
  Great Feeder! September 14, 2013
Reviewer: MN Mom

I am always looking for durable, reliably squirrel-proof feeders. The reviews of this one were spot-on, I am totally satisfied with it! Also, the birds in my neighborhood must be pretty smart, they had this one figured out within 3 days! I'm sure it'll be great when the snow returns.

  Review Posted on Amazon.com July 21, 2011
Reviewer: Birdwatcher

I put this feeder up on a shepherd's crook immediately after my purchase. I used a fruit and nut mix (sunflower hearts and mixed dried fruit), which has been the birds' favorite in our yard. Two weeks, no birds. No squirrels either. Leaving in the same food, I moved the feeder to another location, this time placing it on a tree limb. Within two hours I had birds on the feeder! They were using a nearby limb as a launch site from which to get up under the feeder's hood. It seemed that some of them were not able, from the ground, to get the "lift" necessary to reach the feeder; but by flying from the nearby limb they could manage.

07-30-11 UPDATE: I needed to upgrade this rating to five stars. I've had the feeder in its tree location for two and a half weeks now. I've tried three different seed mixes. Regardless the food offered, I can't keep it filled! The food was running out so quickly I thought something must be shaking the feeder to make the seed drop out. So one day when working at home I placed the feeder in the same tree, but close enough to my home office window that I could watch it. All day long there were birds on the feeder and others fighting for space. Before my eyes I watched the level of the seed slowly drop, drop, drop. Never a big bird or a squirrel. Finches, titmouse, chickadees, (and yes, sparrows) love this thing! Even as I have been typing this there are three birds on the feeder and six more perched in nearby branches chattering away, waiting their turn. If I didn't want cardinals, this would be the only feeder I would have. Am definitely buying another the next time I need a feeder.



  Review Posted on Amazon.com December 05, 2010
Reviewer: Lemore

I don't understand the other reviewer that says they can't get birds to come to this feeder? I have had this feeder for 19 months and yes at first there is a period where they have to get used to the new feeder. But once they do there is no stopping them. I have been feeding birds for at least 15 years and have tried many different kinds. I must have a squirrel proof feeder or I fight a loosing battle they eat everything! Through the years I have also had to battle the effects of rain and snow contaminating the bird food. This is the best feeder I have ever experienced against the weather. The only way the rain or snow can enter is during very powerful storms with lots of heavy winds it has to be so intense that the rain is actually blown up under the protective bell shaped plastic covering!! As for the squirrel problem they cannot get to the food by jumping on to it I have it hanging from a branch on a tree. Just make sure its not to close to a part of the tree where the squirrel can reach the feeding part and still have its hind feet planted on a branch or whatever it can hold on to. From what I can tell this can only be hung and not pole mounted. It can be a bit difficult to clean thoroughly but every so often just take the time and it can be done. I have seen birds waiting all over the place during heavy rain and snow just to get a chance to feed and get out of the elements they love it!



  Review Posted on Amazon.com July 14, 2010
Reviewer: chumm

I am ordering my second feeder. For new purchasers, be patient. It took my finches and sparrows about 2 weeks to figure out how to land on the perch, but now they love it. It is really funny watching the larger birds trying to figure it out. I have a different feeder for the larger birds.



  Review Posted on Amazon.com September 20, 2009
Reviewer: D.A.

This bird feeder is absolutely as stated. Squirrel proof and the birds love it. I liked it so much I bought another one.



  Review Posted on Amazon.com August 25, 2009
Reviewer: J.S.

I've had this feeder for several years. It's the most widely used feeder I have other than the thistle feeder. This feeder keeps the red winged black birds and other "seed hogs" from eating all of the seed, but allows the smallest birds such as finches to eat. It only takes a few days for the finches to figure out how to get under the cover. Once they do, they'll use this feeder more than others. It also keeps snow and rain out of the seed (a big plus in Minnesota).



  Tiny birds stuggle to reach the ports January 01, 2012
Reviewer: Beth

We were excited to get this feeder for a spot that proves tempting to squirrels, however our small Lesser Goldfinches and American Goldfinches really have to stretch to reach the seeds! It looks to be more water proof than most.

  Squirrels eat through plastic July 15, 2012
Reviewer: LY

I have yet to find a plastic feeder like this that the squirrels do not eat their way through. Sometimes takes a couple of weeks or so but they always do. I even had one squirrel bend the heavy wire of a total-wire feeder just enough to get in, but then was stuck. I had to hacksaw the poor thing out, toss the feeder. I'll try the heavy metal step-plate style next and if they figure that out, I give up!


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are sorry that squirrels have been invading your feeder causing damage. Using a feeder like the Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder (model 5109-2) is normally a very effective way to deter these pesky critters from stealing birdseed. Depending on the squirrel population in your area sometimes using a more holistic approach is necessary. You may want to consider hanging your feeder on a pole that is 10 feet away from the nearest tree, fence or launching place making sure it is at least 5 feet above the ground. For more details on protecting your feeder and the birds that enjoy them please feel free to visit our learning center

 

Your feeder is covered under a one year warranty and we would like to offer assistance regarding this is matter. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can help.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  No birds January 07, 2012
Reviewer: Rich

I Purchased this bird feeder because we have a problem with large birds and squirrels. However, it not only keeps the squirrels away, we haven't seen a single bird on the feeder. We have been watching for 2 weeks now and nothing. Starting to think the design is not 'bird friendly'. I also purchased the new home style feeder with the same results. Any suggestion on how to attract birds to the feeder? Like the design and thats why I gave it my rating a #3.

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

APRIL 16, 2012

Dear Rich,

Thank you for your online review! We are happy to hear that this feeder has deterred squirrels from raiding your seed. As for attracting birds, sometimes it can take a few tricks to introduce them to a new feeder.

 

Try sprinkling birdseed directly onto the ground below your Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder (model 5109-2). The birds will then fly up into the feeder. Once they get used to the feeder you will no longer need to sprinkle seed on the ground. We hope you have found this information helpful!

 

If you have any questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Unable to attract birds June 12, 2011
Reviewer: Scooby

I Purchased this bird feeder because we have a problem with black birds and felt the design of the feeder would keep those pesky black birds away. However, it not only keeps the black birds away, we haven't seen a single bird on the feeder. We have been watching for 2 weeks now and nothing. Starting to think the design is not 'bird friendly'. Any suggestion on how to attract 'good' birds to the feeder? Like the design and thats why I gave it my rating a #3.

 

Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JUNE 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder (model 5109-2).  It can take awhile for birds to find and become accustomed to a new feeder. 

It is helpful to place your new feeder in the place of an established feeder.  Also, try sprinkling bird seed on the ground below the feeder to attract the birds.  While feeding on the ground they will fly up to the feeder to the perches when searching for more seed instead of approaching the feeder from the top.

We hope you find this tip to be helpful!  .  For further assistance do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-800-1819, opt 1.


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Not squirrel proof May 19, 2012
Reviewer: IllinoisV

Read the reviews and decided to try it. Put it on a shepherd's crook hook and the first day squirrel knocked it to the ground smashing the plastic. Thus while a squirrel may not be able to get to the seed it can jump from a branch and smash it on the ground. Spent $38 for 1 day's use.


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

MAY 24, 2012

Thank you for the online review of the Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder (model 5109-2). 

 

We are sorry to learn about your experience and appreciate the feedback. When dealing with squirrels it is often necessary to take a holistic approach. Location is key when deciding where to place your feeder. It is suggested to place the feeder at least 20 feet from your home, 10 feet from potential perches, such as garages or trees, and at least 5 – 6 feet off of the ground in order to prevent the squirrels from jumping onto the feeder. 

 

Please keep in mind that Perky-Pet® backs all of the birdfeeders with a 30 day money back guarantee and 1 year warranty. 

 

Please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can assist you.


Jess
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



  Here Birdy Birdy July 07, 2012
Reviewer: PC

I had a non-squirrel proof feeder which had to be filled daily to allow my cats to bird watch from inside. So I got this squirrel-proof best seller. The birds swooped down on it for several days but could not figure it out. I called customer support and they suggested giving it a few more weeks...now it has been over 30 days and I can no longer return it. So some people seem to have had some luck with it...but not me - I guess my birds are more stupid than most...


 
Perky-Pet Consumer Relations Team

  RESPONSE FROM PERKY-PET

JULY 10, 2012

Dear PC, 

 

Thank you for your online review! Sometimes it can take time and a few tricks to introduce birds to a new feeder. To attract them to your the Perky-Pet® Fortress® The Bird Shelter Squirrel Proof Bird Feeder, try sprinkling birdseed directly onto the ground below the feeder. The birds will then fly up into the feeder. Once they get used to the idea you will no longer need to sprinkle seed on the ground. We hope you have found this information helpful! 

 

If you have questions or need assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973).


Liz
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Perky-Pet

 



 

RELATED PRODUCTS

8 lb. seed capacity, each feeder
$123  $69.95 Sale
(52)
 
2 lb. seed capacity each feeder
$97  $44.95 Sale
(12)
 
On Backorder
 
Wild Animal Control Lawn Care Flower Garden Vegetable Garden Home and Garden Decor Pest Control Dog Supplies